Need More Pans. Go With Wilton Or Professional

Decorating By loves2bake4six Updated 31 Aug 2009 , 1:01am by 1234me

loves2bake4six Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
loves2bake4six Posted 30 Aug 2009 , 3:29am
post #1 of 16

I am a newbie on this board and just starting out baking cakes commercially for a small local tea shop and commissions.

I need some more round and square pans and was wondering whether to stick with Wilton brand or switch to professional brands like Magic Line or Fat Daddios.

Do you have a preference for another brand?

I'd love to get more information.

15 replies
karapags Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karapags Posted 30 Aug 2009 , 3:44am
post #2 of 16

Hi. I would invest in professional pans if you think you will be baking more. I have the magic lines. I like square one's so much better because the edges are so sharp. The Fats Daddios ones are more rounded at the edges.

Kara

Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 30 Aug 2009 , 6:52am
post #3 of 16

Magic Line is the best. If you buy ML you'll never regret it, but if you buy Wilton you'll wish you had purchased ML.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 30 Aug 2009 , 7:40am
post #4 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by loves2bake4six

I am a newbie on this board and just starting out baking cakes commercially for a small local tea shop and commissions.

Wilton pans are not commercial pans, but they're fine for hobby bakers like me. They are widely available and can be had quite reasonably using either Michaels or Hobby Lobby 40% off coupons. So it's possible to have two sets of all the traditional and new wedding cake pan sets without breaking the budget.
(And no company has as large an online presence as Wilton, with info on how to use all their products!)