An Easier Way To Dye Mmf =D

Baking By helen3743 Updated 29 Aug 2009 , 3:04am by FlourPots

helen3743 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
helen3743 Posted 28 Aug 2009 , 3:33pm
post #1 of 19

hi i'm an amateur...

and maybe everyone is already aware of this tip, and it just took me thiS long to figure it out...

but you know after making fondant, and you let it sit a couple hours or overnight, to dye the fondant, you add in a little dye at a time and knead it in. For me, it takes time.. and can get tiring from all that kneading.. esp if there's a lot of fondant or a lot of different colors to dye.

But i realized it's soooooo much easier, when you add in dye when the mmf is in it's liquidy state, before you even add in the confectioner's suger. Like after I melt the marshmellows and add whatever ingredients, i also add the dye and swirl that in as well. And surprisingly, adding the 2lbs of powdered sugar after doesn't lessen the color intensity.

=D

18 replies
Mug-a-Bug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mug-a-Bug Posted 28 Aug 2009 , 4:20pm
post #2 of 19

I think most of us know this already icon_biggrin.gif

But, maybe some don't so thanks for sharing!! thumbs_up.gifthumbs_up.gif

dsilbern Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilbern Posted 28 Aug 2009 , 4:32pm
post #3 of 19

I'm about to make my first batch of fondant and didn't have a clue how to color it. Thank you for the tip! thumbs_up.gif

jolie1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jolie1977 Posted 28 Aug 2009 , 4:33pm
post #4 of 19

I didn't know that!!!! Thank you! thumbs_up.gif

holly4409 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
holly4409 Posted 28 Aug 2009 , 4:42pm
post #5 of 19