Any Tricks To Cornelli Lace?

Decorating By adree313 Updated 3 Mar 2010 , 8:41am by noahsmummy

adree313 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adree313 Posted 27 Aug 2009 , 3:10pm
post #1 of 16

i'm thinking i might want to attempt cornelli lace, but i was wondering if anyone had any tips or tricks to go about doing it? as in, should i start on the sides of the cake and then work my way to the top? should i do little circular sections at a time? i've never done it before, so any advice and tricks would be greatly appreciated!

15 replies
msulli10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msulli10 Posted 27 Aug 2009 , 3:12pm
post #2 of 16

I think you are supposed to do sections at a time. I've only done it a couple of times and that's how I did it.

ddaigle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ddaigle Posted 27 Aug 2009 , 3:29pm
post #3 of 16

For the sides of a cake, I make sure the cake is eye level. I use a 3 tip and just make lower case cursive "r's". Just don't make it noticeable where you stop and start from. I always come in from the top or bottom. You will be surprised how easy it is once you get going. HTH.

Suzycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Suzycakes Posted 27 Aug 2009 , 3:33pm
post #4 of 16

Slow and steady is the best advise I can give. I always try to roll up from the side to the top to keep the design going and not leave an edge if I'm not going to be using a border. Be careful to not let your design get larger as you go -- I try to stop to rest and check over what I've done to make sure I am staying on track.

Good luck - it does make a beautiful cake!

Suze

mjk350 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjk350 Posted 27 Aug 2009 , 3:37pm
post #5 of 16

Here is something I found on Wilton. HTH
http://www.wilton.com/technique/Cornelli-Lace

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 27 Aug 2009 , 3:40pm
post #6 of 16

This is my all time favorite technique to use on a cake