Just What We Want To Hear!!!

Business By jillmakescakes Updated 24 Aug 2009 , 7:49pm by dorie67

jillmakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillmakescakes Posted 24 Aug 2009 , 2:08pm
post #1 of 12

So we've all got great stories about awful clients, so I thought I'd share a really great story about a great client!

A little backstory: This person emails me telling me they need a small butterfly cake, preferably two tiers, to feed about 30-40 people. I suggest a 6in and 8 inch and ask if she has any pictures in mind. She send a picture, but asks that the butterflies be pastel. She also says it doesn't have to be exactly like the picture, she will give me creative freedom (I love it when they say that!--most of the time icon_lol.gif )
Purely by coincidence I had another wedding the same weekend wanting see through butterfly wings on their wedding cake, so I started playing with the gelatin butterflies. Here is the final cake: http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1441401

And here is the email I received this morning from the bride (well, one of the brides, hence the two pink butterflies on the top of the cake)

Jill,

I just wanted to send you a note of thanks for doing such a wonderful job on my wedding cake. I looked so beautiful that we didnt even want to share. The taste was awesome. I will definitely be back to give you my business. No more birthday cakes from Wal mart for me! Smile. I will be sure to recommend you more business in the future. Once again, THANKS and job well done. You really out did yourself in my book.

11 replies
Bonnell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bonnell Posted 24 Aug 2009 , 2:16pm
post #2 of 12

Well, good grief! What's not to love, that's a beautiful cake. The butterflies are gorgeous. Now, tell us how you did them! LOL

Lcubed82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lcubed82 Posted 24 Aug 2009 , 2:22pm
post #3 of 12

My daughter loves butterflies- how do I do these? They are gorgeous!