New To Making Cakes

Decorating By shar26 Updated 22 Aug 2009 , 5:06am by diane

shar26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shar26 Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 1:36pm
post #1 of 8

hello!

i have baked cakes before but never covered them in icing etc.

would someone be able to point me in the right direction of which cake to try first!?

many thanks!

7 replies
tiggerjo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggerjo Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 1:54pm
post #2 of 8

We will need more info....what is the cake for...decorated or not...size???

Williamus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Williamus Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 1:55pm
post #3 of 8

Hi...and welcome! I'm an experienced baker, but new to this site...and I'm sure that there are many wonderful recipies on the site that I'm not aware of...I have been using a book called "The Cake Bible"...the author's name is Rose Levy Beranbaum...Lots of amazing recipies...you might want to try to get a copy (you could probably find a copy in your local library if you don't want to buy one right off the bat).

I'm sure that many of the site members here can point you to some recipes available on this site...but Happy Baking!

shar26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shar26 Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 2:07pm
post #4 of 8

thank you for your reply!

i will have a look for that book.

i am totally new to cake decorating and i don't know where to start! i am wanting to make a cake and decorate for no particular ocassion - i just want to get started! but want something quite basic.

i have had a look at doing a bow on a cake so i think thats where i may start!

thanks again

Williamus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Williamus Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 8:58pm
post #5 of 8

Just so you know...the Cake Bible really isn't a book on cake decorating it is more a cook book for recipes.

Good luck

LittleLinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LittleLinda Posted 21 Aug 2009 , 9:37pm
post #6 of 8