Red Buttercream?

Decorating By HannahsMomi Updated 21 Aug 2009 , 2:39pm by Clovers

HannahsMomi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HannahsMomi Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 8:18pm
post #1 of 16

Hello everyone! I am a newbie here and I am hoping to get some advice. I'm sure this question has been asked before, but I'm not sure how to find the answer. How do I get a true red colored butter cream frosting? I struggle with this...

15 replies
cupcakemkr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemkr Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 8:28pm
post #2 of 16

Hi, welcome!

I thought I would struggle with this too...here is the advice I got here some time ago. Buy Americolor Super Red - works GREAT! used about a 1/2- 1 T for 1 1/2 cups bc and it came out a true red.

Good luck!

deetmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deetmar Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 8:40pm
post #3 of 16

Ditto!

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 9:43pm
post #4 of 16

I find that if I need a lot of red icing, even the "no-taste" stuff begins to alter the flavor after a point, and adding a lot of any color changes the consistency.

My solution has been to color the white icing using Chef Master no fade pink. I take it to a bright pink. I add in some Chef Master orange so that it's pretty bright and then I put in Americolor Super Red. I find that I need to use very little red this way and the icing doesn't change in flavor.

HTH
Rae

PuffCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PuffCake Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 9:55pm
post #5 of 16

Americolor Super Red is great! No bad taste and much less needed to get bright red color. Be careful though, the color deepens over time. Sometimes I have added enough to get just the right shade and by the next day the color is much darker.

HannahsMomi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HannahsMomi Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 2:38pm
post #6 of 16