Time Questions?

Decorating By PJ0207 Updated 20 Aug 2009 , 11:02pm by PJ0207

PJ0207 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PJ0207 Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 5:44pm
post #1 of 14

Hi, i am new to this and i will be making a simple round cake filled with buttercream and covered in fondant.....how long should i wait for the cakes to settle before i fill, crumb coat the cake and cover it in fondant?

Also if i want to make appliques out of fondant or gumpaste how long ahead do I have to make them or can i make them as i go and stick them on?

13 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 5:50pm
post #2 of 14

I would fill the cake and then let it settle overnight before crumb coating and adding the fondant.

Also, the fondant appliques should be made right when you're putting them on the cake, if you want them to curve to fit the cake's surface. If you're making something that will stick up, like flowers, make them at least a day in advance so they can dry.

PJ0207 Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 6:03pm
post #3 of 14

thanks, and i had another question about freezing the cakes. I have read heard and saw people freeze there cakes wrapped in saran wrap.....some filled some not filled but what exactly does that do? what's your opinions?

txnonnie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
txnonnie Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 7:42pm
post #4 of 14

I agree with the crumb coat and sit overnight. I do use the floor tile method if in a hurry. I do like the overnight much better...fill, crumb coat and sit.

I have only frozen uniced, unfilled cakes. I like to do it for I think it make the cake more manageable when stacking and moving.

leahk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leahk Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 9:22pm
post #5 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJ0207