Freezing Cakes

Decorating By mmurphy Updated 25 Aug 2009 , 4:49pm by AngieD300

mmurphy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmurphy Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 11:48pm
post #1 of 16

Hi I'm new to cake making and was wondering if you recommend freezing cakes, if so how far in advance can they be frozen and how long does it take to defrost. Thanks Marie icon_biggrin.gif

15 replies
Melchas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melchas Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 6:32am
post #2 of 16

I bake my cakes up to a week in advance and them freeze them. They always taste fresh. I usually take them out to defrost in the morning and decorate them at night, about 4-5 hours or less. HTH

mmurphy Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 4:06pm
post #3 of 16

Thank You so much for your input I will try that. It is so hard to try to bake and decorate at the same time. Thanks again,
Marie

Kandy4283 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kandy4283 Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 4:22pm
post #4 of 16

I am the same way you are! I have no idea about the freezing part of the cakes!! I have talked to several people that say that they freeze them ahead of time but I am too scared to try it and have it turn out nasty for my customers! I make them fresh the night of or the night before the order is due and frost them right away and it is very stressful sometimes!! So maybe I will give this a try to and see!!! Good Luck!!!

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 8:32pm
post #5 of 16

Some people freeze for months, I prefer to freeze the layers for less than a week.

It takes less than an hour for my cakes to defrost in room temperature.

chocomama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chocomama Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 9:45pm
post #6 of 16

If you wrap the cake very well you shouldn't have a problem.

PuffCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PuffCake Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 9:57pm
post #7 of 16