Licensed Kitchen In Rented Home?

Business By Adevag Updated 10 Aug 2009 , 2:41am by No-goodLazyBum

Adevag Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Adevag Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 5:02pm
post #1 of 9

Hi, I am just wondering if anyone knows if it is possible to get a kitchen licensed from a rented home? or do you have to own your own home?

8 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 5:16pm
post #2 of 9

Are you permitted to have a licensed kitchen in your home in your state? If so, the the next question would be is there special equipment needed (like a 3-compartment stainless steel sink, for example) that either your landlord would be willing to pay to install, or your landlord would ok you paying for it and for the install.

I'm no lawyer but I've also heard that any property attached to real property becomes a part of that real property, so if you pay for the sink and pay to install the sink, does the sink now belong to the property owner when you move? (I mean people rarely take their kitchen sink with them, when they move, right?)

saffronica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saffronica Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 7:34pm
post #3 of 9

Even if you don't need any special equipment, you still need to check with your landlord -- every place I've ever rented has a stipulation in the contract that tenants cannot operate a business from the home.

DebBTX Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DebBTX Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 8:55pm
post #4 of 9

I know of several towns where older homes were converted to commercial use. The renovated houses are cute and intended for business. They are in areas that were rezoned for commercial use, and often are for lease rather than for sale.

Are you thinking of a situation like that, or a neighborhood?

-Debbie B.

nikkilynn5769 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikkilynn5769 Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 9:26pm
post #5 of 9