Just Unbelievable!

Decorating By Nyree Updated 8 Aug 2009 , 8:52am by marknelliesmum

Nyree Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nyree Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 6:25pm
post #1 of 38

Ok, I would first like to say this is my first post on a forum, and hope it goes right.

I have been decorating cakes for over two years. My family and friends have seen me evolve with my baking and cake creations, and I am really proud to have come so far. I have sold several cakes, have taken Wilton Courses, private courses from Wilton Instructors, and my ultimate goal it to open up a shop, and make just great cakes. Now here is my frustration icon_mad.gif

One of my co-workers friend is asking whether I can recreate this cake
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sweetartcakes/3121173332/sizes/o/ and get this and she is "WILLING" to pay me $200 for it icon_eek.gif.

I almost fell on the floor. I can completely say there are sooooo many people here and to look at the creations they come up with, leave me breathless, because of the details they put in, carving skills and freehand, I can keep going and going. I haven't reached that point but I have come far, and it just seemed so rude to think that I would even be willing to do a cake such as that one for so cheap. In the end, I said no, I value my work and she can check other bakeries in NY/NJ and see what she can get for $200. Thanks for listening to me rant...my husband keeps telling me to just forget it, but I feel a little better putting this out here, because I know many of you will truely understand my frustration

37 replies
Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 6:28pm
post #2 of 38

The cake is lovely. I would have told her to shove her lousy $200 somewhere.

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 6:31pm
post #3 of 38