Do You "always" Level A Cake?

Decorating By dpaulson512 Updated 7 Aug 2009 , 6:37pm by Rylan

dpaulson512 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dpaulson512 Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 1:17pm
post #1 of 34

I just finished the Wilton Course 1 last week, and I don't recall much about how or when to level a cake. Now, I've got a situation. I was making my mother-in-law a cake for her b-day, and crumb coated my two layers, and ice them, and then upon starting the top border noticed that my cake is not level! One side dips down a little bit, and I guess the only thing for me to do at this point is trash it and start again.

I just want to know how do you do the basics when it comes to getting the cake ready for icing and layering

Thank you so much!

Dawn icon_cry.gif

33 replies
AnnaJo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AnnaJo Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 1:36pm
post #2 of 34

I too I'm new to this fun n carzy cake deco world, I have just 4 months doing it. icon_rolleyes.gif
I have cut the tops of my cakes off with the leveler, the last cake I made I just cut the top of it off before I took it out of the cake pan. Both worked well for me but I liked cutting it off before I took it out of the cake pan better. You just have to play with it and found what works bestest for you. But 'yes' you do, or should level your cakes maybe not so much with a topsy turvy cake.

adamsgama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adamsgama Posted 6 Aug 2009 , 1:40pm
post #3 of 34

No Dawn, do not scrap it. This is a great opportunity to learn from this

Carefully scrape all icing off the cake and throw out icing. Seperate the 2 layers. Put each layer on a cake circle and level (cut) off the hump. If you have the Wilton cake leveler this is the time to use it, if not use a serated knife.
Then restack your cakes. Remember to make your dam of icing. Start with new icing, crumb coat, then put on your cover coat with thin icing.

If you still are not happy, then make a new cake

Sue