How Much Should I Charge For This Cake? Thomas The Train

Decorating By coolgal Updated 1 Aug 2009 , 7:00pm by kathi2009

coolgal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
coolgal Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 4:10pm
post #1 of 15

Hi,
I'm a beginner to cake making and have been making cakes for family b'days and holidays. Ihe mats a hobby and not a profession. I made this Thomas the Train cake for my sons b'day. A friend of my friend's asked me if I could do a smaller one like that for her sons b'day. The cake in the picture could feed 40-50 people. but she needs one that can feed 15-20 people. No idea how much I should charge....... Its lots of work as I make MM fondant myself .Would appreciate any help with deciding....

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo_1424595.html

Thank You
Jel

14 replies
ChimbleySweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChimbleySweets Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 4:15pm
post #2 of 15

I'm curious to see any responses you might get..because I am starting this as a hobby too, but I don't know how much to charge for my cakes.

MikeRowesHunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MikeRowesHunny Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 4:41pm
post #3 of 15

It's lovely. I charge at least $5 per serving, with a minimum charge of $100 for 3D cakes.

CanadianCakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CanadianCakin Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 4:46pm
post #4 of 15

Hate be the bearer of bad news....but it's my understanding it's illegal to sell trademark characters! Maybe someone else could help with this.
Now you could give the cake, but I'm pretty sure if the wrong people found out you were 'selling' it you could get into big trouble!

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 4:51pm
post #5 of 15

I think t is a very cute cake and I can tell you put a ton of work into it. I don't make a lot of 3D cakes, but I'll bet making it smaller would mean more work than this one.

Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 30 Jul 2009 , 5:57pm
post #6 of 15