I Think I Might Be Opening A Business...now For The Name..

Business By patticakesnc Updated 25 Aug 2009 , 2:15am by cakesweetiecake

patticakesnc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patticakesnc Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 10:04pm
post #1 of 12

I have been scouting a location for about 3 months now. Maybe longer. It is in a mtn. town here and I went and looked at it yesterday. LOVING IT! It is downtown but not on main st. It is on the rd parallel to main. But 2 blocks from the hospital, on a bus line and most of the businesses are on the streets that cross main anyway.

There is not a shop at all in town but I am not doing a full fledge bakery. I am looking to start the space as a coffee shop cafe where I can also sell my baked goods but I want daily foot traffic.

Here is the kicker. It is a two story older downtown building that I can live upstairs and have the business downstairs. It is 3000 sq ft (1500 each level). The best part is the rent is only $600 per month! That is less than what I pay for my house that I rent now!

I am trying to come up with a name and working on a breakdown of what I need to purchase. If anyone has ideas on what I may need to add to the breakdown let me know. I am thinking of a name.

Cafe Off Main

I have also been working on mocking up the pics of the upstairs and a part of the downstairs. I am adding them in here. Looking for input!

11 replies
Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 10:53pm
post #2 of 12

I was gonna suggest your screen name "PattiCakes" I love that, but then I read that it will be a coffee shop too.

I think Cafe Off Main is cute too....it has a nice ring to it...reminds me of "Off Broadway".

That rent is unbelievable. Here in Massachusetts, you'd get about 400 sq ft for that price, if you're lucky.

This sounds like a great opportunity for you, I hope it all works out.

Best wishes!

patticakesnc Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 10:56pm
post #3 of 12