Sunbeam Stand Mixer

Decorating By jimandmollie Updated 25 Jul 2009 , 1:04am by cutthecake

jimandmollie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jimandmollie Posted 22 Jul 2009 , 8:23pm
post #1 of 47

I bought this mixer at WalMart for around $100 (I am a hobby baker) and I have had nothing but problems with it! The first one started smelling bad and stopped spinning the mixers. I returned it to the store and exchanged it (it was only 3 weeks old!). Now my second one (about 3 weeks old again!) has done the same thing! I mixed fondant in the first one but I haven't mixed anything but batter and icing in this one! This one has only been used to make maybe 5 cakes and I am so mad. I feel like I wasted $100. I am thinking of upgrading to a KitchinAid 5-qt. Artisan and wondered if anyone had any feedback on it. Thanks! icon_sad.gif

46 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 22 Jul 2009 , 8:35pm
post #2 of 47

I know people love their old Sunbeam mixers (kind of like the way people love their old Kirby vacuums), but I have not had good experiences with the newer ones. My mom gave me one as a wedding gift and it shed its (plastic!) gears into a bowl of buttercream the third time I used it. It wasn't as expensive as yours though.

You should take it back and make Walmart give you a refund instead of an exchange. That way you won't have wasted your $100. If all they will give you is a gift card, use it for groceries and put the $100 in your mixer fund (although they should give a refund, my best trick for getting a refund when they refuse is to stand there at the customer service desk and call the store manager on my cell phone)

I have a KitchenAid Artisan and I LOVE it!!! Get one and don't look back! icon_biggrin.gif

kilikina_24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kilikina_24 Posted 22 Jul 2009 , 9:00pm
post #3 of 47