I Am A Mold Newbie Who Needs Some Help.

Decorating By butterfly831915 Updated 21 Jul 2009 , 4:51pm by butterfly831915

butterfly831915 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterfly831915 Posted 20 Jul 2009 , 6:59pm
post #1 of 11

Okay, so I hear about these molds all the time for fondant and gumpaste. So I purchased a couple and now I don't know how to get them out of the molds. They did not come with the instructions so I don't know how to get them out of the molds. Could any of you help me out please.

Thank you so much!!! icon_lol.gif

10 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 20 Jul 2009 , 8:43pm
post #2 of 11

Hi, when I use molds, I use a bit of shortening. I first rub it in the mold, and then put the paste in. Here is a great video from tonedna on how to make a pearl boarder using a pearl mold.

HTH. icon_smile.gif

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 20 Jul 2009 , 8:45pm
post #3 of 11

Hi, when I use molds, I use a bit of shortening. I first rub it in the mold, and then put the paste in. Here is a great video from tonedna on how to make a pearl boarder using a pearl mold.

HTH. icon_smile.gif

sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 20 Jul 2009 , 11:13pm
post #4 of 11

I do the opposite with molds I dust with corn startch that I have in a tied off knee high stocking which only lets out a fine amount. I rub this over any fondant or gumpaste I will be putting into the mold also. So try both and see what works for you. Try putting in only enough to fill the cavity and then turn the tray or mold over and tap it till it falls out. If it is a soft mold then you can turn it over and squeeze the mold in a way to open the cavity more and push the piece out onto your work surface. I also load my pearl mold with luster dust before pushing in the gumpaste which acts like a powder release and the luster is embedded into the surface making the pearls very smooth.