Need Help With Cream Cheese Frosting Please.

Decorating By katwomen1up Updated 17 Jul 2009 , 2:24am by katwomen1up

katwomen1up Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katwomen1up Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 3:21am
post #1 of 13

I made cream cheese frosting, 8 oz of butter and cream cheese plus PS. It's like putting soup on the cake. Well maybe not soup but it's so thin. I added more PS and doesn't really help. This is my first time using cream cheese frosting, is this how it is? I have to keep putting it back in the fridge to smooth it. Is there a better recipe, should I cut back on the butter?

12 replies
Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 9:02am
post #2 of 13

designmeacake.com has a great recipe.

katwomen1up Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 11:02am
post #3 of 13

Thank you for answering RylanTy, I will try the recipe this morning

tamiscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tamiscakes Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 11:39am
post #4 of 13

i have one that is great ....crust nicely and can be smoothed with a paper towel and has great flavor.
1/2 c. butter soft
1/4 c. crisco ( i use walmart brand instead)
8 oz. cream cheese
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. butter flavoring
2 lbs. powdered sugar
1/4 tsp. salt.
mix everything but p. sugar together then slowly add the p. sugar beat on low speed till mixed and then high speed for about 4 min.

you can easily pipe with this also it is a great frosting!

Good luck Tami

Rylan Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 2:13pm
post #5 of 13

No problem. It's a great recipe. I actually choose it over regular buttercream.

cutthecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutthecake Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 2:24pm
post #6 of 13

Did you use no-fat or low-fat cream cheese? No-fat doesn't work at all for me. Reduced fat is a little thicker and better for frosting, but FULL FAT cream cheese works the best for me.

jdelaney81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jdelaney81 Posted 16 Jul 2009 , 2:28pm
post #7 of 13