Stacking A 4 Tiered Cake

Decorating By BakedbyLisa Updated 13 Jul 2009 , 4:40am by rvercher23

BakedbyLisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakedbyLisa Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 9:50pm
post #1 of 8

I will be making my first 4 tiered cake (8,10,12,14) next week and I am a litte nervous. I plan on using foam board (1/4 inch) between each layer but I have never worked with it before. I have two questions, the first is can I use the bubble straws as support between the layers? I have always used wooden dowels but heard these were easier. Will they hold up the layers with the cake being so heavy? Also do I have to run a long wooden dowl straight down through all the tiers?
If anyone else has tips or suggestions for me I would greatly appreciate it!

Oh I just thought of one more thing, can I fully assemble and then transport? A little nervous at the thought of assembling on site. icon_confused.gif

7 replies
rvercher23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rvercher23 Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 10:03pm
post #2 of 8

I always use foam board for my cakes. You should be fine using them. Yes bubble tea straws will be fine and stand up to the cake. Before I actually knew what I was doing I stacked a 7 tier cake with drinking straws, and they did fine. I would never do that now, but I know better! If you are going to deliver assembled I would recommend putting a central dowel. I never transport fully assembled, thats just me. Good Luck.!!!

steplite Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
steplite Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 10:48pm
post #3 of 8