Call All Experienced Wedding Cake Makers Poll

Business By notjustcake Updated 8 Jul 2009 , 8:04pm by leah_s

notjustcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
notjustcake Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 1:29am
post #1 of 13

icon_biggrin.gif

Ok I have this wedding cake my 2nd one I guess I did a 4 tier masterpiece that I stacked on site.

I used tea straws, and they worked just fine, I was considering buying a SPS system but it's confusing and pricey.

I know it's great and worth it but do you think it would be ok to use tea straws again this time I would drive 20 minutes with the cake already stacked?

What do you think?

12 replies
cakesbycathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbycathy Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 1:37am
post #2 of 13

There is a difference between the SFS (stress free system) and SPS (single plate system)

Many people use dowels and bubble tea straws with no problems but personally I use the SPS system. The plates and pillars are inexpensive and I don't worry about getting them back. I have transported 2 and 3 tier cakes over an hour away and have never had a problem.

briannastreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
briannastreats Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 1:41am
post #3 of 13

If you are transporting it already stacked, I would go with the SPS system. The 4-tier square wedding cake (red ribbon) in my gallery, I used the SPS and transported completely stacked. The thing never moved a bit! It really isn't that expensive... you'll need one set of pillars and just the 3 plates for your top 3 tiers (you'll spend probably $15 plus shipping??). You could use the bubble tea straws, but I wouldn't deliver it already stacked... just my opinion.

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 1:50am
post #4 of 13

Yeah, for delivering an already-assembled cake, I will never go back to straws or dowels. SPS holds it solid as a rock. No worries.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 8 Jul 2009 , 3:24am
post #5 of 13