Discouraged. Was I Wrong??

Business By AFBF Updated 30 Jun 2009 , 1:21am by mommachris

AFBF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AFBF Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 6:25pm
post #1 of 22

I am only beginning in the cake decorating business. I have done cakes for friends and family but no others to this point. I had a "customer" contact me about a potentially huge "job". They would need a 3 tiered square cake, red velvet, with cream cheese icing and black satin ribbon around the bottom. (Which I've never done a stacked cake other than in class so would be nervous...) On top of that, anywhere from 200-400 cupcakes. They had already been quoted a price of $1 from a bakery so in order to get the "job" and potential.y have my business grow, I said I would match the price. Pretty inexpensive, I thought. Well, I gave them a taste test (and delivered), which I didn't charge for. I made the cream cheese icing from scratch but used box mix for the cupcakes. They said: The icing was delicious but the cupcake tasted like red dye!! Well, then they proceeded to say they were smaller than cupcakes they have had from bakeries, grocery stores, etc. But they would be the perfect size as favors. I explained that they were made in standard muffin pans and if I made them bigger they would overflow the paper liner and not look as pretty. Well, they said they could potentially use me if I would make them at a reduced price because they would order so many cupcakes. I told them it wouldn't be reasonable for me with all the time, supplies, and ingredients needed especially since I am working out of my kitchen and don't have a commercial oven. Am I making a mistake? I am really discouraged and thinking from now on I will only decorate for close friends and family since my first potentially big order was a flop. Not to mention they called me on Thursday at lunch and wanted a cake for a b-day party on Friday which I gladly did for them. They say they will order other cakes in the future because they lik