Wedding Cake - How Much To Make???

Decorating By twingirls05 Updated 29 Jun 2009 , 1:14am by indydebi

twingirls05 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twingirls05 Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 12:26am
post #1 of 3

My cousin just got engaged and is getting married next fall (2010)...a ways off. She's asked me to make her wedding cake. I've never done one before, but she just wants very simple and round cakes. They are planning around 300 guests.

Now, I know that you don't make enough cake for 300 guests and I think you take a percentage of that and make that amount of cake.

How would I calculate how much cake to make?

Also, how many rounds (and what sizes) would you make for a guest list of 300?

And, do I charge based on a guest count of 300..or if I only make the cake for 250 (accounting for those who won't eat cake, etc), do I charge for 250 people?

Last one...when you do a wedding cake, do you assume the bride and groom will keep the topper and freeze it? Would I just need to provide a small box for them if they want to do that? I know when we got married, my mom was friends with the bakery owner and they gave us a great discount on our cake and we served the topper and they just told us to come back around our 1 year anniversary and they would make us a fresh cake to eat for our anniversary. Since I'm not "in business" I don't want to offer that, so wasn't sure what you guys do as far as saving or eating the topper at the wedding.

Just trying to get some ideas...this is over a year away, but I've never done an actual wedding cake before icon_smile.gif

2 replies
karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 12:38am
post #2 of 3

If you make a 250 serving cake....charge for 250 servings. I would ask her how many she plans to feed with her cake. She may plan on inviting about 300, but realize that maybe 80-85% will show (indydebi has a formula, I believe....if you ask nice maybe she'll share icon_lol.gif )