Help With Frosting A Cake

Decorating By Rockland Updated 29 Jun 2009 , 4:14pm by indydebi

Rockland Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rockland Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 12:09am
post #1 of 7

Can someone help me. When I try to frost my cake using buttercream, I have the hardest time. For some reason I can never get the edges frosted, it does not seem to stick. Every time I try to cover it up I pull frosting off. I chill the cake, crumb coat the cake. What the heck and I doing wrong

No matter what I do I do not get a smooth looking frosting. Should I be using the frosting tip. I get so upset.

I seem to be putting enough frosting on the cake.

I will try anything

Thanks

6 replies
sharon1800 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sharon1800 Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 12:21am
post #2 of 7

Practice, practice, practice. I could never get it right when I first started and now it seems like every cake is a little better than the last--although I am still a beginner. Here are some tips:
-I crumb coat and allow that layer to sit for 15-20 mins until you can touch it without your finger getting frosting on it.
-Make sure you have the frosting at the right consistency. I go with a medium for icing. It might be your BC is too thick.
- Never lift the spatula from the cake. Frost the top using figure 8 type strokes. Then work on the sides pulling the spatula in figure 8 and then up to the top, never pulling the tool up off the cake.
-I recently tried the Viva method and it has saved me a few times. If you are trying this make sure you are using Viva brand towels. Some people also use parchment paper. Do not do that until it has fully crusted.

Good Luck!

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 29 Jun 2009 , 12:22am
post #3 of 7