Kosher Cakers

Decorating By ahuvas Updated 23 Jun 2009 , 10:26pm by Susans53

ahuvas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ahuvas Posted 22 Jun 2009 , 12:36pm
post #1 of 14

Okay, you know you want this thread icon_smile.gif

For one reason or another I have been made aware of quite a few kosher bakers/cake decorators on this board in the last few weeks. I thought I would open the floor, see if people are willing to introduce themselves, start up a discussion regarding unique challenges of pareve cake decorating etc icon_smile.gif...

Okay my name is Ahuva, Im from Melbourne, Australia and Im a hobby baker - still learning but keen icon_smile.gif

13 replies
Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 22 Jun 2009 , 6:35pm
post #2 of 14

*waves*

Hate doing pareve. Margarine is so disgusting. I think they should all order fish for dinner so I can make a good cake with real butter. Gah.

ruthi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ruthi Posted 22 Jun 2009 , 7:11pm
post #3 of 14

HI I'm Ruthi - I'm in Brooklyn and do cookies and cakes under OK....wish dairy were an option but that's life! LOL. I would love to have more hints and tips on baking pareve and getting close to the real thing and having great taste. Some recipes seem simple enough substitution-wise, but others...? Anyone have tried and true recipes that they love that are kosher and pareve?

Thanks for starting this thread - it would be nice to hook up with others facing the same baking challenges.

Also, I agree with Mentsch - I wish fish were the done deal....can you just imagine what yummy cakes and fillings and icings.........oh well. icon_smile.gif

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 22 Jun 2009 , 8:29pm
post #4 of 14

ruthi -

Brooklyn! A friend of mine used to bring in products from Mendy's for her shop. How do you compete with them? Do you know how to make their chocolate bells? They are so awesome! If you know, would you please teach me?