Anything Good About Wilton?

Decorating By adree313 Updated 9 Jul 2009 , 6:42am by Annabakescakes

adree313 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adree313 Posted 20 Jun 2009 , 1:40am
post #1 of 84

i've seen many, many posts on here about how awful wilton's "this and that" is/are which leaves me to wonder, is there ANYTHING good about the wilton brand products? i'm a complete newbie and was considering buying the wilton round pan set becaues i have a 50% off coupon and i obviously don't plan to keep them forever, but i'm worried because it seems like no one ever has anything good to say about the brand. so would you advise me against it?

83 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 20 Jun 2009 , 1:54am
post #2 of 84

I've got the Wilton 3" deep round pan set and it's great. I just use pam spray and my cakes come out fine. I've got a 10" magic line pan and sometimes I will bake a layer in it and one in my Wilton pan at the same time and they really come out the same.

Everyone likes to complain about Wilton, but if you could peek in everyone's decorating cupboards, you'd find some Wilton there. It's what most of us start with because it's so easy to find.

The Wilton things that I have and like are the white plastic rolling pins, pans, green plastic flower cutters, metal fondant cutters, tips, disposable bags, flower nails, large and small levelers, plastic turntable, pink square pad for fondant, white ball tool, gumpaste tool set.

The Wilton things that have been a total waste of money were the roll and cut mat, fondant punch set, 5 petal cutter (get Jem brand for those), ribbon cutter.

vtcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vtcake Posted 20 Jun 2009 , 2:01am
post #3 of 84

I have tons of Wilton stuff, which is what I can find around here. Happy with everything!

sjholderman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sjholderman Posted 20 Jun 2009 , 2:02am
post #4 of 84