Fresh/frozen Cakes

Business By Niki11784 Updated 23 Jun 2009 , 5:11am by miny

Niki11784 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Niki11784 Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 2:29pm
post #1 of 14

Hi, I am thinking about starting to sell specialty cakes from my home as a side business and I wanted to know a few things. I would be doing this as a side job, and I would love any tips anyone can offer. Also, I thought that to save time I would bake alot of cakes and put them in the freezer, and when people would order, I would defrost, then decorate. My husband thinks this is very unethical since people would be expecting a fresh cake. I was wondering what you guys thought of this, and what other people do. This is not a professional bakery, just something small, and I think people are paying more for the decorated cake, then the cake itself. Opinions please?

13 replies
annieluz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
annieluz Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 3:47pm
post #2 of 14

hi there! well, I am pretty new at this as well so I'm not 100% sure what is the RIGHT way to do it... but I'll tell you what I do... I don't bake a bunch of cakes ahead of time and keep them frozen until someone asks for the following reasons:

a. I like to make my cakes as fresh as possible... I have (and do) freeze if it is for a day or two.

b. I think that might lead to waste if a certain flavor/cake size is not wanted.. you cant keep them frozen for too long... right? if you bake them fresh you are using your supplies as they are ordered and that ensures less money down the drain...
c. i don't have enough room in my freezer to store a bunch of cakes