Chick Fil A Cake?

Decorating By megankennedy Updated 20 Jun 2009 , 10:51pm by DeniseNH

megankennedy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
megankennedy Posted 18 Jun 2009 , 8:21pm
post #1 of 11

Hey guys, my daughter's 3rd birthday is next weekend, and I would love to be able to make her a cake that looks like a chick fil a kids meal. Any ideas/suggestions? I think I could definitely do the nuggets and juice box, but I'm not sure about the waffle fries...yikes! And she eats honey in packets with her meal too so I would have to figure that out.

Yikes!!!!!!!! I've never worked with fondant before, but I'm almost sure I'll have to use it for this.

Thanks in advance, cc is such a great community!

Megan Kennedy

10 replies
poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 18 Jun 2009 , 11:27pm
post #2 of 11

I just saw a burger and fries cake on the home page of CC and the fries were made out of sugar cookie dough. Could you make the waffle fries out of that?

megankennedy Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 12:22am
post #3 of 11

yes, that is a great idea - I was thinking how to do the criss cross look of the waffle fries though...maybe I could "glue" the sticks together w/royal icing?

anyone else?

megankennedy Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 8:20pm
post #4 of 11

buuuump!

korensmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
korensmommy Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 8:29pm
post #5 of 11

I am not a cookie person, but what about cutting slices of the raw sugar cookie dough, like with a pizza cutter, and making it into a 'waffle fry' shape before you bake it?
That way it will glue itself together in the oven - or will this get too puffy?

Just a thought....

chefjess819 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefjess819 Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 8:43pm
post #6 of 11