Coffee Can Cake

Decorating By suzeep Updated 22 Aug 2005 , 6:49pm by suzeep

suzeep Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
suzeep Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 5:31pm
post #1 of 14

I'm trying to figure a way to make a tiki cake for a luau. I thought maybe I could use a a couple of 2 pound coffee cans and stack them. Does that sound feasible? Does anyone know about baking in coffee cans. i.e. Does one cake mix fit in a 2 pound can or would it take more batter. Also, does it bake differently (Longer or shorter time)? Party is in two weeks. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

13 replies
ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ntertayneme Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 5:40pm
post #2 of 14

I've heard of people using coffee cans to bake cakes in but I've never done that before... I'm sure if you did, you'd have to lower the temperature of the oven otherwise you'd have a hard time getting it to bake and get done in the middle... Do you think you could just bake several small round cakes and stack them to get the heighth and just put a dowel stick thru the center to secure it? not sure exactly how your plans are to decorate the cake .. good luck and post the pics .. we'd love to see it! icon_smile.gif

mjones17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjones17 Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 5:52pm
post #3 of 14

I found this picture of one that someone did. I only found it cause I am apparently stupid and didn't know what a tiki was.......lol
LL

kakesbyrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakesbyrobin Posted 21 Aug 2005 , 7:11pm
post #4 of 14

Not that I have tried this,But I think if I baked in a coffee can,I would firtst stop at the local hardware store and buy a couple of the longest nails that I could to act as heating cores.

mjones17 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjones17 Posted 22 Aug 2005 , 12:08am
post #5 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kakesbyrobin