How To Go About Asking A Coffee Shop To Sell My Sweets?

Business By sambugjoebear Updated 13 Jun 2009 , 11:41am by mellee

sambugjoebear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sambugjoebear Posted 11 Jun 2009 , 7:01pm
post #1 of 10

There is a local coffee shop that I would like to get in business with and sell some sweets from their shop (helping me and them). How would I approach them about this? I've never done this before and am still trying to get my home business off of the ground. I've dropped off samples to a few places but so far I haven't gotten many orders ( I think 4-5 in the last 4 months). I know my products are good, it's just getting my name out there that is the problem. icon_sad.gif Should I make up some more samples to pass around?

I know I want to make samples for the coffee shop when I approach them, should I make them a variety of things that I would be interested in selling them? cookies, brownies, cupcakes?

Thanks for any/all input!

9 replies
Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 11 Jun 2009 , 7:07pm
post #2 of 10

Samples are definitely the way to go.

First be sure that you are allowed to sell "wholesale" out of your home kitchen. Where I am, I'm not allowed to sell to anyone who will resell even though I'm licensed and legal.

Check out your area laws before you approach them.

Good luck,
Deb

sambugjoebear Posted 11 Jun 2009 , 7:29pm
post #3 of 10

I love Ohio... icon_smile.gif I'm under the cottage food laws and we are allowed to sell thru groceries, restaurants, farmer markets, and out of our homes (obviously). Everything just has to be labeled a certain way (which it would anyway selling to a customer straight from my home).

However, since the coffee shop would be my customer, would I label the box that I give them their cookies/brownies in or label each indiviually wrapped product with my info on it? Probably the latter, eh?

sambugjoebear Posted 12 Jun 2009 , 12:14pm
post #4 of 10