How Do They Get The Layers So Thick?

Decorating By sister340 Updated 12 Jun 2009 , 6:07am by madgeowens

sister340 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sister340 Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 10:12pm
post #1 of 40

I have 3" pans but they are not deep enough for the cakes I'm getting requests for. Tiered square, etc. How do you get the layers thick enough for this "chunky" look?

39 replies
tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 10:17pm
post #2 of 40

If you mean cakes that are 4 inches high, is basically 2 cakes 2 inch in height stacked together..You can fill your 3 inch pan less or you can cut your cake so is not excessively high..
Edna icon_smile.gif

rharris524 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rharris524 Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 10:18pm
post #3 of 40

The deepest pans I've ever seen (but I'm not an expert) are 4 inches. I think that they must just be stacking more layers...

tonedna Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 10:23pm
post #4 of 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by rharris524

The deepest pans I've ever seen (but I'm not an expert) are 4 inches. I think that they must just be stacking more layers...

Baking 4 inches of batter is more difficult since it can lead to undercooking on the center and over cooking on the top. Not to say it can't be achieved, but as for me I prefer to stay between 2 or 3 inches high. And yes is all stacking layers..
Edna icon_smile.gif

mcdonald Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcdonald Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 10:29pm
post #5 of 40

I have very tall layers (I think so anyway..compared to what I have seen from others)... I use 2" pans but I fill those puppies 3/4 full usually.. depending on if it is chocolate or white almond, etc..... They usually rise above the pan...