Cake Boards & Fondant

Decorating By Aliaswoman Updated 10 Jun 2009 , 4:42am by __Jamie__

Aliaswoman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aliaswoman Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 9:22pm
post #1 of 8

I am fairly new to cake decorating. I buy the Wilton brand cake boards..I usually make an 8 inch cake so I buy the 8 inch cake boards. As we all know, when covering a cake with fondant the board has the to be the same size as the cake...but for some reason my cake board is always slightly bigger which is quite annoying when doing simple borders like a ribbon...the cake board sticks out. Has anyone experienced this problem; is this normal? If so, what do you do? Is Wilton not making their cake boards true to size and should I go with another brand? Is my cake shrinking when baking (I should add that my 8 inch pans are by Wilton too)? Any advice would be great.

7 replies
maudabom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maudabom Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 9:30pm
post #2 of 8

I had no idea the board is supposed to be the same size as the cake. I just use a pizza cutter and go around the cake to cut the excess fondant off. I never use pre-size boards. I use foam core (I think it's used for science fair displays), it's sturdier than the cardboards and I can cut it to fit any size I need. I think Wilton purposely makes the boards slightly larger so that you can put a border around the cake without it hanging off the board. As I am a newbie here too, someone may have a better insight!

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 9:31pm
post #3 of 8