Complete Newbie - Lots Of Questions

Decorating By TexasRandi Updated 14 Jun 2009 , 3:18am by Lisaa1996

TexasRandi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasRandi Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 3:14pm
post #1 of 11

After a few years of looking and learning online from all of you talented artists I am finally ready to give it a go and make my daughter's 1 year bday cake. Any answers to my questions would be appreciated...

1. I have read all the oohs and aahs for the WASC cake and about using creamers. Do I add the creamer in place of the water or just part of the water? Do you recommend using creamer for a 1st birthday and if so what flavor? Do you recommend using white chocolate and if so do I just use chips?

2. Okay, freezing and simple syrup. Do I freeze my cake wrapped in saran wrap, press and seal or both? Do I freeze my cake hot, warm or cold? Do I unwrap to thaw or thaw wrapped? Do I brush with simple syrup before or after I freeze?

3. I hope to make a 10-8-6 round stacked and obviously need support. Is there something you recommend for a total newbie? Will it look silly when I take off the top round to give to my daughter to destroy when the second round will be a little bare? Shoul dI not add the top layer?

4. The party is Saturday, should I bake Thursday and decorate Friday? Also should I use butter buttercream or crisco and if so do I have to put in the fridge when decorated. We live in south Texas but it will be indoors.

Thanks so much, I hope my cake is 1/4 as awesome as all the ones I see on here. You are all an inspiration!

10 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 4:51pm
post #2 of 11

Hi there, welcome to CC!

I haven't made the WASC cake, so can't help you with that. Sorry! icon_redface.gif