How Much Fondant To Order?

Decorating By ashleyandlee Updated 8 Jun 2009 , 6:59pm by hollyh

ashleyandlee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashleyandlee Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 5:25pm
post #1 of 13

I am ordering some Satin Ice fondant from Goldas Kitchen online (can't get it anywhere in my area).

I'm kind of new to using fondant but have FOUR wedding cakes to do this summer with it, and I'm not sure how much I should order.

The cakes will be 3 tiers, 8", 10", and 12" (double stacked - one is triple stacked). I also have to cover two 20 x 14 sheet cakes.

Goldas Kitchen sells the Satin Ice in 10 kg, 5 lb, and 2 lb tubs. I pretty much only need enough fondant to cover the cakes - no fancy fondant decorations. What size(s) should I order so that I have enough fondant to cover these 6 cakes?

Thanks so much!

12 replies
ashleyandlee Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:19pm
post #2 of 13

Anyone??? icon_redface.gif

misserica Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
misserica Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:25pm
post #3 of 13

Just giving you a bump. I order Satin Ice in 5lb tubs but I would not know how much you would need to cover that many cakes. Elise Strauss of Confetti cakes has a break down of size to pound but its in one of her books and I do not have access to it right now.

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:28pm
post #4 of 13

http://www.satinfinefoods.com/ordering.shtml

I would get 20 pounds although I'm not sure if that is enough. I didn't do the calculations.

kylekaitlyn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kylekaitlyn Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:29pm
post #5 of 13

I'm not sure how much you will actually need. There are so many variables. I know you said no fancy decorations, but how thick you roll, how much waste, etc. all play a role. I would say if it were me, I'd err on the side of caution and get more than I think I'll need.