Crusting Buttercream Icing -- Help, Please

Decorating By PDXSweetTreats Updated 8 Jun 2009 , 2:30am by Melchas

PDXSweetTreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PDXSweetTreats Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 7:05pm
post #1 of 10

This is probably an old topic among all of you, but I'm new to CC and I couldn't find a way to seach the forum area (sorry . . .). With 778 pages to search, it seemed easier to post the question --

What ingredients help a buttercream icing to crust?

I prefer not to use an all shortening icing, and the recipe I use most frequently calls for a 1:1 ratio of butter/white margarine to hi-ratio shortening. I was wondering if the butter portion is what's preventing the crusting.

Would adding merinque powder help? Or, should I reduce the butter so it's more of a 1:2 ratio of butter to hi-ratio shortening?

TIA (I saw the list for acronyms, thanks icon_smile.gif ), and I think you guys are simply AMAZING! This site is SO inspiring!

9 replies
staceytisdale Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
staceytisdale Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 7:16pm
post #2 of 10

www.designmeacake.com

I love this recipe for crusting buttercream.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 7:27pm
post #3 of 10

i use crisco. or hi-ration shortening. and real butter.. and also whipping cream... and the poweder sugar. tastes great... and crust great. and i use the viva paper towel smoothing method within minutes after icing it . this is the american buttercream of course.. i make the smbc. imbc,etc. , when requested also.hth

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 8:09pm
post #4 of 10

Crusting is a result of the ration of fat to sugar. More fat .... less crusting. More sugar ... more crusting.

dadawley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dadawley Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 8:25pm
post #5 of 10