How In The World To Make A Decent Sheetcake?

Decorating By Pebbles1727 Updated 9 Jun 2009 , 4:40pm by diane

Pebbles1727 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pebbles1727 Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 7:03pm
post #1 of 21

How do you all do it? Mine are just so terrible. They stress me out twice as much as any tiered cake and look so much worse. I pretty much given up on even taking pictures of them. Why do people stuck on those? It's not that I'm too good for sheetcakes, it's quite opposite- I'm not good at them at all. I'm starting to honestly dread and hate them. I can never get the design, spacing, writing, colors, or proportions right. How do you get better at these things?!
P

20 replies
ton247 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ton247 Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 7:12pm
post #2 of 21

I know what you mean. I hate them too! It's like having a huge blank sheet of paper.

all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 7:21pm
post #3 of 21

The only thing that has helped me in the least was looking through oodles and oodles of other people's work and trying to mimic them in whole or in part.

There's quite a few CCers that are incredibly good at them and are great for inspiration

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 7:30pm
post #4 of 21

i have no problem with sheet cakes of any size, i actually enjoy decorating them with whatever design.. i have gotten where i am pretty fast with them.. been decorating for 13 years. but have always like to do them..

Rose_N_Crantz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rose_N_Crantz Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 7:51pm
post #5 of 21

I hear you with the writing. I would practice writing common phrases (Congratulations, Happy Birthday, Happy Anniversary, etc.) so that you get the idea of about how long you write each word. That way when you're writing on the cake you can visualize how much space you would need. My biggest hurdle is straight lines. My writing always ends up lopsided, like this: