Not A Fondant... Am I Outcasted?

Decorating By SunMamaof3 Updated 8 Jun 2009 , 5:16pm by HamSquad

SunMamaof3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SunMamaof3 Posted 6 Jun 2009 , 8:35pm
post #1 of 33

I have noticed many many B E A U T I F U L cakes... but unfortuately most of them are fondant... nothing that is bc ... and I do not do fondant... 2 reasons... too complicated to work with and it does not taste good... icon_wink.gif But I feel the cakes I do is not as great... and feel I am being outcasted... is there a section where I can just post my pictures that are only BC...

Just wondering... thanks for reading this...

32 replies
blu_canary Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blu_canary Posted 6 Jun 2009 , 8:47pm
post #2 of 33

Ok, I'm a bit of a newbie, so I really can't advise you on a place to post your BC cakes. And if you love working with BC, all the power to you, I do too.

BUT...and this is a big but...there are some outstanding fondant recipes on here. I recently tried an MMF that I found here and while it is still chewy, it did taste good. It didn't seem like a waste of effort for me to put it on the cake at all. I felt good about someone eating it, as opposed to warning no one to eat it before I served it. icon_smile.gif

In the meantime, here's to a great buttercream and all the beautiful cakes made with it!

MLand Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MLand Posted 6 Jun 2009 , 8:48pm
post #3 of 33

I know how you feel. I have stayed away from fondant - I just started "doing" cakes Dec of 08. Like you, the fondant is more trouble for me than to just do it in bc. But recently the fondant has been growing on me! I am doing a Baptism cake next week, so I did the booties and a rosary yesterday and fell in love with the cuteness of the fondant items. I am tilting toward the kitchen now to "play" with fondant. I don't like the bought fondant either, I make mmf to use now.

erin_e Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
erin_e Posted 6 Jun 2009 , 8:53pm