Toba's Chocolate Fudge Cake..falling! Please Help Me!!

Decorating By springlakecake Updated 5 Jun 2009 , 11:50am by springlakecake

springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 2:32pm
post #1 of 12

Help me please! I have made this recipe several times and now I have baked it 3 times and it falls the last 10 minutes or so in the oven! I have little experience with scratch baking. I do not know what is going wrong. I already told my customer the cake was from scratch, so it's not like I can really go back and bake my old stand-by doctored cake mix.

11 replies
springlakecake Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 2:35pm
post #2 of 12

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Chocolate-Fudge-Cake-109712

Here is the recipe. The only difference is that in the book the ingredients are weighed instead of measured ( I am weighing)

underthesun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
underthesun Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 5:04pm
post #3 of 12

I made his recipe the other day and it also fell. I will say it fell evenly. It seems to have a fudge consistency and dense, so I thought maybe this was the way it was suppose to turn out.

I am very careful to follow Tobas directions specifically. I have made her moist yellow cake and it turned out great, while a friend made it, not having a paddle attachment and rose so high, it overflowed. So, I was surprised at the directions of this recipe, just adding all the ingredients at once.

I just couldn't do that, so I added the ingredients as most cakes directions would give. maybe this was my problem. Did you add them all at once?

Wish I could help. I know you can contact Toba at her website. Just google it. Maybe she will give direction.

springlakecake Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 5:19pm
post #4 of 12

Well I have followed her directions to the letter, and I have also done it more like a traditional recipe would have (cream butter with sugar)