How To Make The Perfect Cupcake In Size?

Baking By LadyAlmuina Updated 9 Aug 2009 , 10:42pm by TheKookieWench

LadyAlmuina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LadyAlmuina Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 3:00pm
post #1 of 17

Ok, So i'm a newbie but i've made many cupcakes for fun.... the only thing is; like i said" for fun" they always come out of the baking cup and its always a mess icon_cry.gif still managing to me very tasty...

So how can this be fixed?

I would love to make some presentable cupcakes icon_lol.gif with the top "ROUND" icon_lol.gif

My goal is to make a pretty fondant top cupcake....

Can you guys HELP!!!

Thanks in advance!!

16 replies
ski Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ski Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 3:15pm
post #2 of 17

One method is to use a pair of scissors and clip the edges that over hang, then ice etc... the other , I read somewhere(and does work) is to only fill your cupcakes 2/3 full, that way the top can crown properly. hope this helps some.

becklynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
becklynn Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 3:26pm
post #3 of 17

I always use an ice cream scoop - the kind with the lever - to fill my cupcakes. Or you could a cookie scoop. This way you get the same amount of batter in each cup.

Cakes_By_Bright Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakes_By_Bright Posted 3 Jun 2009 , 3:40pm
post #4 of 17

It also depends on what type of cupcakes you are making. I bake from scratch and I can use a 1/4C (not leveled off) to fill my vanilla cuppies and they come out very pretty and domed perfect for icing. icon_smile.gif

Now my darn scratch chocolate cuppies I had to keep experimenting with until I figured out I should use about 3 tbsp so that they won't overflow when baking icon_mad.gif . I was actually using tablespoons until I saw on my little conversion table thingie I have on my fridge that I can use 1.5oz and so I since then started using this small measuring cup that measures up to 1.5oz.