7 Tier For Only 200 People

Decorating By lynnfrompa Updated 1 Jun 2009 , 8:37pm by indydebi

lynnfrompa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lynnfrompa Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 2:25pm
post #1 of 22

I have a bride who wants a cake that is 7 tiers but only needs it to feed 200. She is fine with tiers of "fake cake" but how many should I make real cake?

Next question is what should I charge for this?

She wants chocolate, marble and white cake all BC filled and iced. The decoration on the tiers will be hearts, lacework and paw prints(Penn State) and on each tier she wants 2 large paw prints for the top she wants 2 lion heads(Penn State logo)..... I have to deliver it 120 miles away.....

The decorator she had canceled on her. The picture attached is what the other decorator designed. I have never done anything this large before.

I've been reading the forums for a while and just recently decided to sign up. This is my 1st post.

21 replies
aquamom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aquamom Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 2:32pm
post #2 of 22

Wow--totally out of my league but here is a bump.

itscake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itscake Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 2:38pm
post #3 of 22

I would do every other one fake...so three in total...you would have to assemble the cake on site( make sure to take some fondant and royal icing to fix breakage)...this is a huge order!!! three to four real tiers..should be enough... I would charge a minimum..of $500 plus delivery...good luck with your cake!!

lynnfrompa Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 2:43pm
post #4 of 22

( make sure to take some fondant and royal icing to fix breakage).

there is no fondant except for the paw prints and lion heads.

Sassy74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sassy74 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 2:46pm
post #5 of 22

Hmmm...not sure that I can be of much help, but here goes...

First of all, I didn't see an attached pic. Maybe I missed it???