Need Help With Wings Please

Decorating By mom2rascals Updated 29 May 2009 , 4:15pm by mom2rascals

mom2rascals Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom2rascals Posted 28 May 2009 , 11:13pm
post #1 of 11

I am dying to make this bakugan cake this weekend. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to make (and support) the wings?

I have 1/4 inch thick candy clay rolled out over a half styrofoam ball right now, but the darn things aren't drying! How long does it take for candy clay to dry - or does it dry? I need the wings to be stiff and solid, maybe I shouldn't have used candy clay.

I've never used candy clay before . . .

Please help! Thank you.
LL

10 replies
crystalina1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crystalina1977 Posted 28 May 2009 , 11:17pm
post #2 of 11

if you want something to dry stiff and solid maybe you should try gumpaste?

mom2rascals Posted 28 May 2009 , 11:26pm
post #3 of 11

Will the candy clay eventually dry? if so, how long does it take . . . days?

crystalina1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crystalina1977 Posted 28 May 2009 , 11:29pm
post #4 of 11

i dont know i haven't used candy clay...maybe someone else can help with that one...

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 28 May 2009 , 11:33pm
post #5 of 11

Candy clay doesn't dry, at least not the way you want it to. It's fat based. There's nothing to dry in it.

crystalina is right - use gumpaste.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

mom2rascals Posted 29 May 2009 , 3:42am
post #6 of 11

Any ideas on how to support the wings (gumpaste, I'm thinking now)?

I would still like to salvage the red candy clay that I have made. Has anyone tried covering a cake with it? How did it taste? Would you still have to use buttercream as a base for candy clay? Thanks.

ski Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ski Posted 29 May 2009 , 2:06pm
post #7 of 11