Birthday Cake V. Wedding Cake - Price

Business By cheekymonkey06 Updated 30 May 2009 , 1:43pm by Sweet_Guys

cheekymonkey06 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cheekymonkey06 Posted 28 May 2009 , 1:37pm
post #1 of 22

Do you charge differently for your birthday cakes v. wedding cakes? I have a request for a two tiered cake for a 3 year old's birthday party (6x3 and 10x4) with fondant and scroll piping on both. The calculation I come up with is around $62.50 for a cake that size, but that sounds high to me... I should mention I am REALLY new to this - this is only my third cake order.

21 replies
muddpuppy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
muddpuppy Posted 28 May 2009 , 1:49pm
post #2 of 22

No. There is no difference in my Wedding vs. Occasion cake pricing. At my shop anyway. Cake is cake. It all costs the same. icon_wink.gif

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 28 May 2009 , 1:52pm
post #3 of 22

most people dont charge differently, because cake is cake. and generally, most people just charge more the fancier it gets, regardless of the event.
your cake will feed a lot of people, 50 by wiltons wedding chart, 40 by the party one. so per serving, your price is actually a low one (well, depending where you are etc etc) - $1.24 or $1.55.
xx

saberger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saberger Posted 28 May 2009 , 1:58pm
post #4 of 22

I know of people who have a set price for common size cakes and then a per serving amount for wedding cakes. Example: $18 for a 6" round with basic design vs. $5/per serving for wedding cakes.

Lisaa1996 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisaa1996 Posted 28 May 2009 , 2:05pm
post #5 of 22