Wedding Cake For 500.... (Yes, I Am Serious)

Decorating By CakeDiva73 Updated 1 Jun 2009 , 3:14pm by soccermom17

CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 28 May 2009 , 5:11am
post #1 of 29

I got a lead regarding a wedding cake for 500 and am supposed to call the bride tomorrow morning to discuss shapes. She said octagonal (in the lead info) but when I emailed her, she said she just put down anything since she wasn't sure.

I have never done a cake quite this large before so prior to calling her, I wanted to determine if it was unrealistic to stack all the servings. I looked at the square serving guide and I think if I do a minimum 2" difference between tiers and start at 18" for the bottom, I can come close to the 500 servings.

I wanted to know, is this what is normally done. If some of you more experienced wedding cake-makers got a request like this, would you steer them to a smaller cake and then provide sheet cakes for the back?

In case you were wonderng, her budget is $1500 which just falls within my $3 per serving BC fee ( I would kind of have to eat 60 miles of delivery but for a cake that large, I would do it.....)

thanks in advance for any and all advice icon_smile.gif

oops, forgot to ask, if I am using the SPS system, would I plan on delivering this puppy partially stacked? Like 3 different stacks that I assemble onsite? Because I think it may end up being 7 tiers - 18, 16, 14, 12, 10, 8 & 6. tx

28 replies
cakeandpartygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeandpartygirl Posted 28 May 2009 , 9:04am
post #2 of 29

I can't offer any advice except great choice in using the sps system. But all I can say is good luck!!!icon_smile.gif

AbouttheCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AbouttheCake Posted 28 May 2009 , 10:02am
post #3 of 29