1/2 Sheet Cake Questions

Decorating By twingirls05 Updated 17 May 2009 , 4:32pm by Lisaa1996

twingirls05 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twingirls05 Posted 16 May 2009 , 11:00pm
post #1 of 12

I may possibly be getting an order for a graduation cake to feed around 100 people. I am just starting out and need to get a 1/2 sheet pan anyway.

For those who do sheet cakes...do you put 2 halves together to make a full sheet cake (and just ice over them). Do you layer and fill them or just leave them "just cake?" Does that make sense? Ha!

For a non-filled 1/2 sheet...how many does that feed (reasonably...I'm thinking everyone would probably want a bit more than a 2x2 square...lol). How about a filled 1/2 sheet?

I'm thinking that for 100 people, they would probably need 3 half sheet cakes. But then again, I've only done just smaller bday party cakes and such.

ETA: How many cake mixes go into a 1/2 sheet cake? I'm guessing 2??

11 replies
rwarhank Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rwarhank Posted 16 May 2009 , 11:10pm
post #2 of 12

I haven't done this but I looked up a similar question under the forums.
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-631601.html

Hope this helps until someone with more experience comes along.

jensenscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jensenscakes Posted 16 May 2009 , 11:18pm
post #3 of 12

One 1/2 sheet serves 48 2"x2" peices. So a full sheet is just two halves put together and iced over so you will end up with 96 pieces. I think that 1 Full and 1 half will work great if you think people are going to eat more or bigger pieces. You can put filling in the middle, although I would slide a piece of cardboard underneath to move the top layer or it will break on you. I would also make sure the board underneath is strong or the weight of the cake will make it bend. I usually double or triple the cardboard. I always think 1/2 sheets are easier to deal with. Hope this helps. icon_biggrin.gif