How Do You Control The Spray Over Form An Airbrush?

Decorating By acookieobsession Updated 19 May 2009 , 11:38am by kmoores

acookieobsession Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
acookieobsession Posted 15 May 2009 , 9:44pm
post #1 of 10

I am looking into getting an airbrush. but since my kitchen (licensed) is also in my home and my DH is an eagle eye. I really need to make sure that I do not have any spray over on my counters, cabinets, floor, etc. Now I guess in a perfect world there would not be spray over but really...I will be a beginner...so I can not count on my accuraccy.

I looked at the pro series spray covers but they are like $500...so that is out...Homemade covers or ideas would be great!

Thanks for the help.

Julia

9 replies
JCE62108 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JCE62108 Posted 15 May 2009 , 9:51pm
post #2 of 10

LOL Ive been using mine at work for 2 years and I still get the stuff everywhere. Its going to get everywhere. Not only that but if you dont wear a mask when you spray, then go blow your nose your tissue will be all sorts of colors. lol. Its just such a fine mist it just floats everywhere. Put the airbrush in a place that you can clean easily. Back in a corner somewhere facing a wall. You can tape parchment paper to the counter and walls so that you can just tear it down and toss it away when you are done. I wish I could do that at work sometimes.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 15 May 2009 , 9:59pm
post #3 of 10

you can take a box.. turn it upside down.. cut out front side.. place cake inside and spray.. lots of people do this.. i airbrush.. but have never done this.. it can be a mess.. if i did it all the time.. i would prepare more ... on earlenescakes.com. she shows how she does it.. had a box especially made with a fan i think.. hth

JCE62108 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JCE62108 Posted 15 May 2009 , 10:08pm
post #4 of 10

That's a pretty good idea!

varika Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile