Patriotic Red White And Blue Wedding Cake

Decorating By RetiredNavyChief Updated 14 May 2009 , 3:53am by CShields

RetiredNavyChief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RetiredNavyChief Posted 13 May 2009 , 4:34pm
post #1 of 8

I have my first paying wedding cake. 150-175 people they want a patriotic them. I am think white white red white and blue roses. Trying to keep them in bc one to keep cost down and 2 because i am new at this whole decorating thing. (my mom is my mentor, and teacher, so she will be helping) Any suggestions or if any of you have websites or pictures that would truely help. thanks

7 replies
CShields Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CShields Posted 13 May 2009 , 6:41pm
post #2 of 8

I created a three-tiered wedding cake a couple of months ago for a customer that "had to have" blue flowers. Frankly I thought that blue roses were not natural roses; however, to my surprise, there are a number of florists that have real blue flowers (roses) that are naturally grown. They are quite expensive, though! So I did the cake in buttercream. I handmade all the pearls on the cake out of white chocolate fondant. Then due to time contraints, I ordered gumpaste flowers from a leading company that hand makes them. I airbrushed many of the roses blue and used the company's gorgeous red roses to off set all the blue. To my surprise, the red, white, and blue theme was very attractive and brought many compliments. See for your self- http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1255578&sub=1359755. Good luck in making your cake. I'd love to see it when you are done.

CShields Posted 13 May 2009 , 6:46pm
post #3 of 8

Opps, I just looked at the cake and remembered that the cake was not done in buttercream. icon_redface.gif I used a wonderful bright white ChocoPan Fondant for the icing.

Brownie1954 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brownie1954 Posted 13 May 2009 , 6:54pm
post #4 of 8