What Should I Do?

Decorating By StaceyCakes75 Updated 13 May 2009 , 7:19pm by tiggy2

StaceyCakes75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
StaceyCakes75 Posted 13 May 2009 , 5:45am
post #1 of 14

This past weekend I made a cake for my daughter's softball team. At the party a dad was raving about how good the cake was. He started asking me more about my cakes and finally told me they are having a sweet 16 party for their other daughter and wanted to know if I would be willing to make the cake. Of course I said. Then he said its going to be for 250 people. 250! Thats a freakin wedding I thought to myself. I said ok. then he said they want 30 individual 8" round cakes one for each table instead of center pieces.....Ummmm....I'm just a home baker and not a bakery. I told him I would have to think about it. They only want one layer cakes w/ white fondant and some little topper maybe a GP 16 or something. It's sounds very simple but 30! My friends (who dont do cake of course) all want me to do it and think I'm stupid to pass up this opportunity. they all say we will "help you" well you know how that goes, but I would not be able to do this alone.

So my questions are should I even be thinking about doing it? And what would I charge?

I dont want to pass up some great business but I also dont want to get over my head.

Thanks in advance I know I can always count on you all for great advice.

13 replies
reece430 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
reece430 Posted 13 May 2009 , 6:01am
post #2 of 14

First. WOW. 30 center pieces??? Seriously?!??!!?!? That will be a ton of work. Do you really want to put yourself through that?

panchanewjersey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
panchanewjersey Posted 13 May 2009 , 6:03am
post #3 of 14