Cream Cheese Frosting Question

Decorating By lat1nacurv3s Updated 11 May 2009 , 1:56am by angelicconfections

lat1nacurv3s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lat1nacurv3s Posted 10 May 2009 , 4:03am
post #1 of 6

Hello all, I'm a newbie to the baking world. Trying my hand at doctored up cupcakes. I have a recipe for Cream Cheese Frosting but it seems a little runny. Is that the way it should be?

Here's the ingredients and directions I followed:
1 package (8oz) reduced-fat cream cheese
4 TB (1/2 stick) butter
3 cups confectioners' sugar, sifted
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Blend with an electric mixer on low speed until combined (30 sec), cream cheese and butter. Add the confectioners' sugar, a little at a time until sugar is well incorporated (1 min). Add the vanilla, then increase the mixer speed to medium and blend the frosting until fluffy. 1 minute more.

The only thing I can think of that I may not have done is mix it until "fluffy". I mean, I think I did but maybe what I think is "fluffy" isn't fluffy enough. I waited 15 minutes before topping the cupcakes. They were just a tad bit warm. And the frosting just seemed to go blah on top, not pretty at all. But I must admit they still tasted oh soOoO good! lol

HOWEVER, I want them to look just as good as they taste. I'm hoping to break into the cuppie biz! Thanks to anyone's feedback. I would greatly appreciate it.

icon_biggrin.gif ZANDI

5 replies
ptanyer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ptanyer Posted 10 May 2009 , 6:42am
post #2 of 6

Having waged my own cream cheese frosting war for the better part of Saturday, it sounds like several things happened.

1. Maybe you needed more powdered sugar. Depending on the heat and humidity, you may have to add a bunch of sugar to stiffen it up enough to do a crisp piped design.

2. The cupcakes/cake has to be completely cooled. Any warmth at all will cause your frosting to being to melt and go flat.