Newbie Here! With A Question!

Decorating By baby-freckles Updated 4 May 2009 , 2:54pm by tiggerjo

baby-freckles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
baby-freckles Posted 4 May 2009 , 10:41am
post #1 of 10

Hiya all,

I am Katie, 23 from Nottingham, UK.
I have joined this forum as I would really like to get into cake decorating.

My question is, how did all you expert decorators first start up cake decorating? I have tried looking into a part time course, but cant seem to find any locally.

Some of the stuff I have seen on here is fab and I would love to be able to do something like them!

Thanks for all your help and advice xx

9 replies
Lisa540 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa540 Posted 4 May 2009 , 12:21pm
post #2 of 10

Honestly I have never had a course. I have done lots of reading and listening to ideas from different people. Now, I am not even close to as good as a lot of people on here but I am just getting started and feel that I will continue to improve as time goes. My biggest thing is don't be scared to try something. Just do it! Even if it's a huge disaster you still learned something! Have fun with it!

cakeinthebox4U Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeinthebox4U Posted 4 May 2009 , 12:33pm
post #3 of 10

As a newbie myself who doesn't have time to take courses (home with 2 kids under 2!) I've found youtube (especially tonedna's videos) and the DVD's you can order from the pros here the best way to self teach.

juleskaye518 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juleskaye518 Posted 4 May 2009 , 12:42pm
post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa540