Need Help With First Sheet Cake!

Decorating By SFcakelady Updated 11 May 2009 , 8:45pm by SFcakelady

SFcakelady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SFcakelady Posted 2 May 2009 , 4:37pm
post #1 of 11

I need help! I've never done a sheet cake before and a customer wants a 1/2 sheet cake. First, what size pan do you use for this? Second, in order to do 2 layers, do you split the batter between 2 pans or bake one and tort it in half? Third, how many servings can you get out of acke this size? Thanks in advance.

10 replies
Butterfly27 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Butterfly27 Posted 2 May 2009 , 4:59pm
post #2 of 11

Some people have different sizes they consider a 1/2 sheet cake but my half sheet cake is 12x18. There is actually a pan that size but is you don't have it you can use a 9x13 cake pan and bake 2 cakes and lay side by side. I use wilton cutting and serving charts so if you want to do a 2 layer cake you can either use a 3" deep pan and tort and fill or use 2" deep pan and do 2 cakes and stack to make a 4" deep cake. Most sheet cakes are only 2" tall but it is up to you. For a 4" deep 2 layer cake 72 party size servings or 98 wedding size servings. For a 3" torted and filled cake 72 party size servings or 108 wedding size servings. Hope this helps you.

cakebaker1957 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakebaker1957 Posted 3 May 2009 , 2:44am
post #3 of 11

My half sheet cake is a 11x15 i went to a local bakery and i looked at what sizes they had a half sheet cake looked like my 11x15 so thats what i consider a half sheet cake for me

dmhart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dmhart Posted 3 May 2009 , 2:51am
post #4 of 11

How many servings is your customer needing? I don't know if everyone agrees on what a 1/2 sheet size is, I normally ask how many servings they need. This way you are sure to give them the cake they need.

BCJean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BCJean Posted 3 May 2009 , 3:08am
post #5 of 11