Swine Flu Cancellations?

Decorating By mackeymom Updated 2 May 2009 , 6:58pm by angelicconfections

mackeymom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mackeymom Posted 30 Apr 2009 , 8:55pm
post #1 of 81

How is the flu effecting business? I am a home baker, so I don't have that many orders anyway, but all my cakes for this weekend have been cancelled. I am trying to figure out if it is because I work in a doctors office during the day. Strictly back office, no "contact" with patients, and its a urologist. We don't handle anyone with flu like symptoms.

Is anyone else having cake cancellations this week? icon_cry.gif

80 replies
jmt1714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jmt1714 Posted 30 Apr 2009 , 9:19pm
post #2 of 81

I hope you had deposits!

goldenegg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
goldenegg Posted 30 Apr 2009 , 9:35pm
post #3 of 81

It's just got everyone running scared right now because of all the deaths in Mexico and hype about it being pandemic, I think a lot of businesses (especially in TX) will feel the effects of it for the coming weeks/months. For instance myself and my family are going to try to refrain from eating out and going out in general till it blows over or gets under control (it happened before in 1976), I know other people I work with are actually buying freezers and stock piling food in there to avoid going out, people are also leaving work, schools are shut down around here, it really sucks but I'm not surprised at all if people are canceling cake orders, especially from non-health inspected/licensed kitchens, not at all trying to be insulting, just realistic, I'm a home baker as well.

mackeymom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mackeymom Posted 30 Apr 2009 , 9:42pm
post #4 of 81

Well the city of Ft Worth just cancelled all out door events until May 8th. They have really got everyone spooked!

And Yes, I got deposits... but still. I don't want to make money that way.

JenniferMI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile