Wedding Cake Vent

Decorating By Rhonda19 Updated 23 Apr 2009 , 7:37am by juleebug

Rhonda19 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rhonda19 Posted 20 Apr 2009 , 1:44pm
post #1 of 16

I am a newbie, and I have always told people that ask if I bake for public that I am really not good enough yet. But, my son was married this past Saturday, and I just have to tell everyone about their wedding cake.

My new DIL was trying to organize this wedding all by herself. So she found a person that does bake for the public. This person happened to be a friend of my sisters...she quoted a $100 price out of respect for my sister, and it was to be a cake that fed about 75 people.

My DIL let this person tell her how she would make the cake. It was going to be 3 tiers, stacked, covered in fondant. The decorations were simple, fondant strips around the bottom...fondant daisies down the side. She ordered the daisies already made and told my DIL that the fondant would taste good, she was going to order it as well.

I was really thrilled when I first heard about it because (1) the price was FANTASTIC!!! and since I felt as if she was doing as a favor to my sister, it would be a pretty cake.

I walked into the reception hall and at first look.. It was pretty, but as I walked closer, it looked like something that was left over from a wedding!!

First look at the cake, it was leaning. I walked over to it...the fondant was cracking in places. The ribbon around the edges was not even..thick in some places, thin in others. My DIL had purchased her own cake topper and she didn't put it on the top layer, she put it in a small dummy layer.??? I don't know what that was??

Her borders were crooked... The fondant tasted just like Wilton right out of the package. and what was really bad is there were some people complaining that there were pieces of something in the cake itself.