Almond Extract - Safe For Nut Allergies Or No?

Decorating By djs328 Updated 18 Nov 2016 , 11:43pm by ldrice16

djs328 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
djs328 Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 1:38am
post #1 of 29

Ok, this may be a dumb or already covered topic...does anyone know if using (imitation) Almond extract is ok for someone with nut allergies or not? A lot of the recipes on here suggest using it, and I am wondering about the allergy aspect...Any insight??? icon_confused.gif

28 replies
JodieF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JodieF Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 1:45am
post #2 of 29

Imitation is fine...there's no almond in it. But, as someone with a tree nut allergy, if I smelled almond I wouldn't eat it even if you promised me it was imitation!

Jodie

adonisthegreek1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
adonisthegreek1 Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 1:46am
post #3 of 29

I have no first hand experience with this, but I've heard that the imitation almond (or other imitation nut) extracts are safe for people with nut allergies. Just don't use the real extracts, because they are not safe.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 1:47am
post #4 of 29

I had a bride in for a sampling a few weeks ago with nut allergies and she called ahead of time to see if I used almond flavoring in anything. She didnt' even want artificial almond ... I didn't ask why, but I bet it's the same reasoning as Jodie.

mirda6275 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mirda6275 Posted 15 Apr 2009 , 1:58am
post #5 of 29